Disability Cup Final- Blind Football

FA Disability Cup


It is our ambition that The FA Disability Cup Finals day will become a key date in the football calendar, with St. George’s Park providing a world-class backdrop for the culmination of each partner competition’s cup final.

2016-17 saw St. George’s Park host five Cup Finals on Saturday 6 May:

  • Amputee cup final (adult male) in partnership with England Amputee Football Association
  • Blind cup final (adult male) in partnership with the National Blind Football League
  • Cerebral palsy cup final (adult male) in partnership with CP Sport
  • Deaf cup final (U18 female) in partnership with English Schools Football Association
  • Powerchair cup final (adult mixed-gender) in partnership with the Wheelchair Football Association

The FA Disability Cup ensures that players within impairment-specific football have a national FA competition which they can take part in with dreams of reaching St. George’s Park for finals day.

It is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the achievements of the players, coaches and volunteers involved in our partner competitions, and provide a platform for raising awareness of the opportunities that exist for everyone within disability football.

Get In Touch

Jasbir Batt: Disability Football Officer

M: 07980 830648


Partner competitions

The league was established in its current guise prior to the 2015-16 season through a partnership between The FA and CP Sport. Prior to this, FA regional CP centres of excellence were a key part of the FA talent pathway and they participated in monthly fixtures.

However, with the continued evolution of the talent pathway, it became clear that a national league for grassroots footballers was required. The FA commissioned CP Sport to establish a league format and together with the County FA network to establish a network of CP football teams across the country, many of whom are now embedded within pre-existing Charter Standard clubs.

The CP Sport National Cerebral Palsy Football League consists of a north conference and a south conference, with a total of nine adult teams for the 2016-17 season. The teams take part in regional central-venue fixtures throughout the year and then teams from both conferences come together for the national cup competition in April.

The winners of the north and south conferences qualify to play at St. George’s Park as part of The FA Disability Cup Finals day.

To find out more information please click here or follow the league on Twitter.

The league consists of six English teams and runs from October to May, including both a league and league cup competition.

Due to the teams being spread throughout the country, the league intersperses full central-venue fixture dates with bi-monthly northern and southern fixture dates that each league team takes turns in hosting.

The winners of the league and cup both progress to St. George’s Park for FA Disability Cup Finals day.

For more league information, click here.

The English Schools’ Football Association, founded in 1904, is the governing body for schools’ football in England. In season 2011-2012, the ESFA worked in partnership with the National Deaf Children’s Sports Association (NDCSA) to deliver three national competitions for Deaf Schools – Junior Boys’ Cup, Senior Boys’ Cup and Girls’ Cup.

The festival, which regularly attracts in excess of 30 teams across the three categories, has been held at the Derby Soccerdome since its inception.

The competition is held annually on the first Tuesday of February in each year. All the teams play in a league format with the winner being crowned the national champion school.

The results can be found at – www.esfa.co.uk/competitions

If you would like to enter a school team into this competition contact the ESFA National Competitions Manager – darren.alcock@schoolsfa.com

The Wheelchair Football Association’s national league was established for the 2005-06 season, with six teams competing at three weekend events.

The WFA has worked with the FA to develop the sport and provide a complete player pathway from grassroots participation to national league competition and international selection.

Now in its 12th season, the national league competition comprises of Premiership and Championship divisions with 24 teams competing over a series of 11 weekends.

The events are held at the Lee Westwood Sports Centre at Nottingham Trent University. This season the competition is sponsored by Muscular Dystrophy UK. The national competition structure is supported by six regional league competitions and a play-off process which sees teams promoted and relegated within the pyramid.

In 2011, the WFA Cup was launched. This is a competition that is open to all affiliated powerchair football clubs within England and operates on a home or away basis.

The first two rounds operate on a north and south divide, with Premiership teams receiving a bye into round two. 2016-17’s WFA Cup saw 19 teams enter the competition, with the final taking place at St. George’s Park as part of the FA Disability Cup Finals day.

The Muscular Dystrophy UK national league and WFA Cup information can be found here. 

The league was formed in advance of the 2008-09 season and consists of both a league and cup competition. The league committee works closely with The FA to support the development of the game and offer a competitive route for blind players.

The league runs a monthly central-venue fixture programme between October and March based at the Royal National College for the Blind in Hereford, with the cup competition traditionally taking place as the final event of the season in April.

There are three teams in the league, with players allocated to a team based on their involvement in one of the six FA B1 regional talent centres that train on a weekly basis across the country. The Brian Aarons Cup is played at the end of the season over a one-day format with teams taking part in a number of fixtures on the day.

The winners of the league and the Brian Aarons Cup then qualify to play at St. George’s Park as part of The FA Disability Cup Finals day.

To view the league website click here.


The FA Disability Cup Finals day has taken place at St. George's Park for a second successive year, providing a platform for the very best in impairment specific football in the country.

Disability Cup Winners

  • Powerchair: Aspire PFC
  • Cerebral Palsy: CP United 
  • Blind: RNC Shrews
  • Deaf: U16 Derby County Girls
  • Amputee: Peterborough United

Related Articles

View All